top of page
Search
  • journalism90

Meet Miss Mackey! By Amy P.

Updated: Sep 7, 2022



Art teacher Laura Mackey sat down with me in this exclusive interview.

Where were you from? I was born in Yokosuka, Japan but I am from Bryant, Arkansas.


What are some of your favourite things? Jesus, my dog Miko, collecting rocks and finding free stuff people throw out and creating art with my lovely students.



What drew you to Korea? After I got my masters in teaching English I decided to teach English in Korea. I didn't enjoy it at all and a friend of mine told me about NICS. I applied and during the interview God told me that I was going to ICSU before I knew that they wanted to hire me. It was pretty cool.


What is your greatest professional accomplishment? I think my greatest accomplishment is inspiring students to love and acknowledge the importance of art and creativity in their lives.

How's ICSU after two years of teaching? I love all of my students and I am super happy to be teaching different high school art classes and also still being able to teach my elementary buddies.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page